Am I a Cancer Survivor?

It has been 90+ days since Suleika Jaoud had a bone marrow transplant to treat myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) and acute myeloid leukemia (AML). Now, she contemplates when someone should be called a “survivor” and what that actually means.

Secrets of Cancerhood

By SULEIKA JAOUAD

Photo Credit: Seamus McKiernan

 

It was the annual fund-raising event for the Hope Lodge, my temporary home after a bone marrow transplant. The host asked all the survivors to step forward from the crowd. I froze. I didn’t know if that word applied to me. What does it mean to be a survivor? I certainly didn’t feel like one. Not yet, anyway.

The first time anyone used the word “survivor” in reference to me, I had just been admitted to the bone marrow transplant unit of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. A nurse came into my hospital room to review the transplant calendar with me. The transplant had been looming on the horizon ever since my diagnosis with leukemia in May 2011. The nurse briefed me on the sequence of events: intensive chemotherapy, followed by the transplant, and then a four- to six-week hospitalization. I noticed something on…

View original post 167 more words

Tags: , , , , , ,

About The Bone Marrow Foundation

Founded in 1992, The Bone Marrow Foundation is dedicated to improving the quality of life for bone marrow, stem cell, and cord blood transplant patients and their families by providing vital financial assistance, emotional support, and comprehensive educational programs. The Foundation is the only organization of its kind that does not limit assistance to a specific disease, type of transplant or age range.

Leave a Reply

