Hope Is My New Address

In the ongoing series about her battles with myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) and acute myeloid leukemia (AML) and about her bone marrow transplant, Suleika Jaouad shares her experience as she enters the post-transplant phase.

Secrets of Cancerhood

 By SULEIKA JAOUAD 

Suleika Jaouad at a halfway house following her bone marrow transplant.

Photo Credit: Anne Francey

I opened my eyes to find doctors peering over my hospital bed. They had some welcome news.

I had for a month been living in isolation in the bone marrow transplant unit of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, my only option after my diagnosis with acute myeloid leukemia last year. Now, the doctors cautioned me that while my immune system was still very weak, my brother Adam’s healthy cells were beginning to engraft in my bone marrow. I was showing signs of progress: I had transitioned from my feeding tube to solid food, I was able to walk around — slowly — without assistance, my blood counts were going in the right direction, and I no longer needed to be connected continuously to an IV machine.

It was “graduation” day. The doctors were sending me to the Hope Lodge, a halfway house sponsored…

View original post 202 more words

Tags: , , , , ,

About The Bone Marrow Foundation

Founded in 1992, The Bone Marrow Foundation is dedicated to improving the quality of life for bone marrow, stem cell, and cord blood transplant patients and their families by providing vital financial assistance, emotional support, and comprehensive educational programs. The Foundation is the only organization of its kind that does not limit assistance to a specific disease, type of transplant or age range.

Leave a Reply

